Tuesday 23rd April 2024

24th Inter CPSU Table Tennis tournament.

Mar 2nd, 2022 8:56 pm | By | Category: LATEST NEWS

Ram Naresh Singh, Chairman, DVC

The 24th Inter CPSU Table Tennis tournament, under the aegis of Power Sports Control Board, Ministry of Power, organised by Damodar Valley Corporation, was inaugurated on 1st March at the Netaji Subhash Eastern Centre, SAI, Salt Lake, Kolkata. S.Suresh Kumar,Addl Chief Secretary, Deptt of Power, Govt of WB, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. He was cordially welcomed by the Chairman, DVC, Ram Naresh Singh, with an Uttariya & a beautiful sapling. The other dignitaries of DVC present on dais were Member Technical, M.Raghu Ram, Member Finance, Arup Sarkar, CVO, S.L.Bhalotia, Executive Director (System) & President, Central Sports Council, DVC, S.K.Datta, Addlitional secretary,B,Datta & Executive Director (HR),Rakesh Ranjan, who was also in charge of organising the entire event. The program commenced with the lighting of the ceremonial lamp & a welcome song by the employees of DVC HQ. The Chairman in his address while welcoming the participating teams, who had travelled from across the country, wished everyone on the auspicious occasion of Shiv Ratri & thanked the MoP for allowing DVC to host this tournament. He emphasised on the importance of sports by quoting the maxim, ‘healthy mind in a healthy body’, especially in these tough times caused by the pandemic. He urged the players to remember that whoever dons the victory podium, sports will always be the ultimate winner. He expressed his genuine pleasure at the presence of women players as a sign that women are not to be left behind today in any sphere of life. The Chief  Guest appreciated the effort put in by the employees of DVC in making such elaborate arrangements, pointing out that this wasn’t really a part of their routine job. He mentioned that the instinct to win should always be tempered with sportsmanship spirit. The tournament was officially inaugurated by the hoisting of PSCB flag by the Chief Guest & the Chairman. Later, after a brief march past & oath taking ceremony they met with all the players of teams from PGCIL, BBMB, CEA, MoP, NEEPCO, NHPC, PFC, REC, SJVNL & DVC. The Chief Guest & the Chairman exchanged a few shots on the TT board & the arena was handed over to the match officials & the paddlers. The tournament would continue till 4th March with winners to be announced in both individual & team categories. PGCIL had been the Champions in last year’s edition.

Government News

Comments are closed.