Tuesday 16th July 2024

EC, Bans Exit Poll during Legislative Assemblies Elections in CG, MP, Rajasthan, Mizoram & Telangana

Nov 10th, 2018 6:29 am | By | Category: LATEST NEWS

Ias upsc indian enblem
Election Commission of India, in exercise of the powers under sub-section(1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 notified the period between 7.00 A.M. on 12.11.2018 and 5.30 P.M. on 07.12.2018 as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing the result of exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or in any other manner shall be prohibited in the ongoing general elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram &Telangana, 2018.

Further, under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in each of the phase in connection with the aforesaid general elections.

Notification dated 8th November, 2018 issued in this regards is enclosed herewith for the information of all concerned.

Government News

Comments are closed.