Sunday 14th April 2024

Winners of NTPC Grand Challenge for Ash Utilization Awarded

Feb 14th, 2019 5:23 pm | By | Category: LATEST NEWS

In line with its endeavour to encourage and promote generation of safe, reliable and eco-friendly power NTPC, organised nationwide contest – Grand Challenge for Ash Utilization 2019. The winners who presented extra-ordinary ideas for achieving 100% ash utilisation were felicitated at an award ceremony by Union Power and New & Renewable Energy Minister(I/C),R.K Singh, during IPS 2019 in Raipur.

The Winners -N Kalidas got the first prize (individual category) of Rs 5 lakh, followed by Dr. SV Patnakar (Researcher) and Kalidoss Subramaniyan and T Thangapandi (Team) in the 2nd (Rs. 3 lakh) and 3rd position(Rs. 2 lakh), respectively. Other winners Dr. Kali Sanjay Consolation Prize for Rs. 1 lakh, Dr. Jaswant Singh Bhomrah Consolation Prize of Rs. 1 lakh.B. Ramamohana Reddy, Ajit Kumar Bhosle and Ms. M. Aishwarya got appreciation certificate.

With an aim to get practical, economically viable and implementable ideas on achieving 100% ash utilization from the public, NTPC had organized the Grand Ash Challenge Contest from 1st December 2018 to 24th December 2018. The contest received an overwhelming response and a total of 713 valid ideas were submitted to NTPC by the public. The entries were further scrutinized by an expert committee post which 20 teams were shortlisted at the first level.

The selected 20 team/individuals made a presentation of their ideas and showcased their models before an expert committee of eminent persons that comprised Dr. V. K. Saraswat, Member, Niti Aayog,A.S.Bakshi, Ex. Chairman, CEA and A.K.Jha, Former Director (Technical), NTPC. The esteemed jury, on January 30, 2019, announced eight winners for the Grand Ash Challenge.

Government News

Comments are closed.